Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /home/region/public_html/cutenews/show_news.php on line 21

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /home/region/public_html/cutenews/show_news.php on line 41

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /home/region/public_html/cutenews/inc/ on line 23

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /home/region/public_html/cutenews/inc/ on line 23

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /home/region/public_html/cutenews/inc/ on line 23

2009 Indiana All-Star coaches named
Region Roundball Review

03/03/09 11:26 pm by RRR | Back

According to the Indianapolis Star, Ben Davis coach Stan Benge will be the head coach for the 2009 Indiana All-Stars in June.


Benge, who will lead the Giants in this Saturday's 4A State Finals marquee matchup with South Bend Washington, will be coaching with and against two locks for this year's team -- Alex Bentley and Skylar Diggins. Which All-Star jersey numbers both of those two players will be wearing this June is still undecided.


The long-time Ben Davis coach has amassed an impressive 467-125 record (.789 winning percentage) in his 24 years with the Giants, including 20 sectional, 10 regional and 4 semi-state titles. The Giants also captured two 4A State titles in 2000 and 2001 with Miss Basketball Shyra Ely (2001), and Indiana All-Stars Ashley Allen (2001) and Sara Strahm (2000).


In 1995, he served as an assistant coach to the All-Stars, getting the opportunity to coach the likes of Stephanie White (Seeger), Kristina Divjak (Lake Central) and Monica Maxwell (East Chicago Central) that summer.


Assistant coaches for this year's team will be Beth DeVinney of Seymour and Shelly Newell of Argos. Newell (Rochester) was an Indiana All-Star in 1976, the first year the honor was bestowed upon the girls' side of the game. Photo from the Ben Davis Girls Basketball website.


The schedule for the remaining 2009 All-Stars announcements are as follows:


  • Miss Basketball - Announced on Sunday, March 22nd
  • All-Star Team - Announced on Thursday, March 26th


All-Star ballots have already been sent to all Indiana media outlets, with voting to be completed by March 12. Players on this year's ballot -- with the option for  write-ins -- are as follows:

  • Alex Bentley  -  Ben Davis (Penn State)
  • Meagan Collins  -  Boonville
  • Elese  Daniel  -  South Bend Clay
  • Skylar Diggins  -  South Bend Washington (Notre Dame)
  • Meghan Doss  -  Turkey Run
  • Cierra Dotson  -  Indianapolis Northwest
  • Macey Elyea  -  New Castle (Butler)
  • Kelly  Faris  -  Heritage Christian (Connecticut)
  • Claire  Freeman  -  Heritage Christian (Butler)
  • Skyler Gick  -  Benton Central (Valparaiso)
  • Lauren Goffinet  -  Tell City
  • Heather Gonser  -  Owen Valley (Indianapolis)
  • Taylor  Goshert  -  Wawasee
  • De' Airra Goss  -  Ben Davis (Western Michigan)
  • Dragana Grbic  -  Terre Haute South (Butler)
  • Karli Harris  -  Fishers (Oakland)
  • Jessica  Hull  -  South Bend Adams
  • Elizabeth Jennings  -  Lapel (Butler)
  • Mandi Johnson  -  Crawfordsville (IPFW)
  • Tessa Johnson  -  Terre Haute South
  • Daress McClung  -  Lawrence North (Cincinnati)
  • Jasmine McGhee  -  Anderson
  • Lauren McRoberts  -  Carmel
  • Lauren Meese  -  Oak Hill
  • Aubrey Minix  -  Oregon Davis (Murray State)
  • Sydney Mitchell  -  Columbus North
  • TaKenya Nixon  -  Michigan City (Eastern Illinois)
  • Jordan Ogle  -  Columbus East (Kentucky Wesleyan)
  • Teri Oliver  -  Taylor
  • Courtney Osborn  -  Hamilton Southeastern (Miami OH)
  • Brooke Owens  -  Vincennes Lincoln (Illinois State)
  • Morgan Palombizio  -  Chesterton (Eastern Illinois)
  • Andrea  Rademacher  -  Borden (Indiana State)
  • Spring Raines  -  Northview
  • Margee Reeder  -  Muncie South
  • Kelsey Reynolds  -  Penn (Boston College)
  • Laura Richards  -  Connersville (Valparaiso)
  • Charae Richardson  -  Lafayette Jefferson
  • Natalie Robinson  -  Fountain Central
  • Adrienne Sahm  -  Indianapolis Cathedral
  • Lindsey Shepherd  -  Indianapolis Arlington
  • Aulani Sinclair  -  Eminence (Indiana)
  • Krista Smith  -  Terre Haute South
  • Lecretia Smith  -  Fort Wayne Elmhurst
  • Lyzz Smith  -  Plymouth
  • Paige  Smith  -  Hamilton Southeastern (Grand Valley State)
  • Chrissy Steffen  -  Carmel (Bowling Green State)
  • Lily  Svete  -  Penn (Florida)
  • Rachel Turk  -  Plainfield
  • Kristen Turner  -  Seymour (Oakland)
  • Lindsay Vandivier  -  Franklin Community
  • Jasmine Watson  -  South Bend Washington (Massachusetts)
  • Sydney Weinert  -  Fort Wayne South (IPFW)
  • Sancheon White  -  Hammond
  • Kelsey Wyss  -  Fort Wayne Luers (Eastern Illinois)

This page has been viewed 89 times.

Email: (optional)


smile wink wassat tongue laughing sad angry crying 

| Forget Me

Copyright ©
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without prior permission.