Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /home/region/public_html/cutenews/show_news.php on line 21

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /home/region/public_html/cutenews/show_news.php on line 41

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /home/region/public_html/cutenews/inc/ on line 23

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /home/region/public_html/cutenews/inc/ on line 23

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /home/region/public_html/cutenews/inc/ on line 23

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /home/region/public_html/cutenews/inc/ on line 337

IHSAA Tournament update
Region Roundball Review

02/19/08 09:47 pm by RRR | Back

Press release from the IHSAA today. Please make note of the schedule changes for the semi-state games.



The Sweet 16 will be whittled down to the eight state finalist teams this Saturday as the 33rd Annual IHSAA Girls Basketball State Tournament rolls on to the semi-state round. Each of the four sites will host a doubleheader with the first game set for 1 pm ET / 12 pm CT.


Two-time defending Class 2A champion Heritage Christian and 4A's South Bend Washington both survived regional action and hope to take the last step this Saturday to get back to Conseco Fieldhouse.


Half of this year's field of 16 has never played in the state finals, including Fort Wayne South Side (4A), Indianapolis Bishop Chatard (3A), Southern Wells (A) and University (A), each of which won its school's first regional crown on Saturday night.


Both Vincennes Lincoln (3A) and Carmel (4A) ended long regional title droughts. Lincoln won its first regional in 27 years, while Carmel won its first since 1995, its state runner-up season.


Scores from each game will be posted to the IHSAA website as they become available on Saturday.


Please note the order of games at each site has changed from when they were first posted to on Sunday morning. The updated order is listed below. Our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.



Date: Saturday, Feb. 23.

Time: First games begin at 1 pm ET. All games listed as Eastern Time.

Admission: $7.



Elkhart Central (Northside Gym)

1 pm ET, Class 2A, Garrett (23-3) vs. Oak Hill (25-0).

To follow, Class 4A, South Bend Washington (22-2) vs. Fort Wayne South Side (22-4).



1 pm ET, Class A, Fort Wayne Canterbury (19-5) vs. Southern Wells (18-6).

To follow, Class 3A, Plymouth (20-4) vs. Wawasee (23-2).




1 pm ET, Class 3A, Indianapolis Bishop Chatard (22-4) vs. Vincennes Lincoln (21-3).

To follow, Class 4A, Carmel (21-4) vs. Columbus East (20-5).



1 pm ET, Class A, University (19-6) vs. Northeast Dubois (22-3).

To follow, Class 2A, Heritage Christian (25-1) vs. Austin (22-3).



State Finals

Date: Saturday, March 1.

Site: Conseco Fieldhouse, 125 S. Pennsylvania Street, Indianapolis.

Conseco Fieldhouse | Seating Chart | Driving Directions | Parking | Fieldhouse History | Indy Hotels & Dining

Admission: Session $10.00; Season $18.00.

Reserved tickets can be purchased at the participating schools the week of the state finals. Contact participating schools for ticket distribution hours. Tickets also will be available game day at the ticket office at Conseco Fieldhouse.


Session I

Class A State Championship -- 10:30 am ET

Class 2A State Championship -- follows Class A game

Session II

Class 3A State Championship -- 6 pm ET

Class 4A State Championship -- follows Class 3A game




Looking for First Semi-State Title (8 of 16)

4A -- Fort Wayne South Side.

3A -- Indianapolis Bishop Chatard, Vincennes Lincoln.

2A -- Garrett, Oak Hill.

A -- Fort Wayne Canterbury, Southern Wells, University.


Looking to Break Semi-State Championship Drought (Five or More Years)

13: Carmel (1995).

9: Austin (1999).

7: Plymouth (2001).


Most Consecutive Semi-State Championships

4 by Noblesville (1987-90); 4 by Fort Wayne Bishop Luers (1999-2002).


Top 10 All-Time Semi-State Championship Leaders

6:  Fort Wayne Bishop Luers.

5: Kokomo, Valparaiso.

4: Bedford North Lawrence, Columbus East, Crown Point, Noblesville, Shenandoah, Warsaw.

3: Ben Davis, Bloomfield, Brebeuf Jesuit, East Chicago Roosevelt, Fort Wayne Snider, Heritage, Heritage Christian, Huntington North, Indianapolis Cathedral, Lake Central, North Central (Indianapolis), Rushville, Scottsburg, Tri-Central.


2007 State Champions Still Alive

4A: South Bend Washington.

2A: Heritage Christian.


2007 State Finals Teams Still Alive

4A: Columbus East, South Bend Washington.

3A: Wawasee.

2A: Heritage Christian.

A: None.


Former State Champions Still Alive

4A: South Bend Washington (2007).

3A: None.

2A: Heritage Christian (2006, 2007).

A: None.


First-Time Regional Champions

4A: Fort Wayne South Side.

3A: Indianapolis Bishop Chatard.

2A: None.

A: Southern Wells, University.


Regional Championship Drought Breakers (Five or more years)

27: Vincennes Lincoln (1981).

13: Carmel (1995).

9: Austin (1999).

7: Plymouth (2001).


Repeat Regional Champions

4A: Columbus East, South Bend Washington.

3A: Wawasee.

2A: Heritage Christian, Oak Hill.

A: Northeast Dubois.

This page has been viewed 16 times.

Email: (optional)


smile wink wassat tongue laughing sad angry crying 

| Forget Me

Copyright ©
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without prior permission.